Profile Book, Take 2 {Adoption Update}

Our case worker is absolutely amazing.  She is take-your-breathe gorgeous, but she is equally as beautiful on the inside too.  Bless her, she looked through our profile book with patience and an unbiased eye.  She corrected a few misspellings, evidently I am not as much of a perfectionist with certain details than I am with others.  Her only suggestion was that we add our picture to the last page, so that whoever is reading our book could imagine us as they read the last letter.  It was such a compliment to hear her say that she could tell that I had put a lot of time into it!  The book has been paid for and sent off to be printed so I can’t change it, even if I wanted to.

I’m choosing to share our profile book with you, definitely not so I can say ‘look at what I’ve done’, but simply so others who have to go through this process can have an example.  I am a visual learner, and I had a sweet friend let me see her book so I could have a starting point.  So here is a link…drum roll please.

Also, here are a few tips that I was given and some things that I learned while putting together our book:

  • Include pictures that make you seem “approachable”.  Don’t let all your pictures seem too posed.
  • If available, consider using pictures of you with other children.
  • Don’t get too wordy, let your pictures tell most of your story.
  • Make your words count, get to the point, but be honest and open.
  • Be creative and show your personality!
  • Don’t over-analyze how you look in a photo.  Birthparents are looking for perfect individuals, they want to see REAL people.
  • Have fun!  Look at this as part of the adventure, not just another item on your check list.

It may have seemed like a daunting task at first, but I really started to enjoy myself.  Each page became a sweet reminder of how far we’ve come, and how we’ve been guarded by God’s hand each step of the way!

One thought on “Profile Book, Take 2 {Adoption Update}

  1. Thanks for sharing this photo book, Libby! It is so beautiful and you did a wonderful job putting it together. I will be praying for both you and Brad, as well as the birth mother of YOUR baby! You will make GREAT parents and I am so excited for you.

Leave a Reply

