Profile Book {Adoption Update}

Have I told you that I occasionally have tendencies to be a perfectionist?  Not all the time, ahem, just sometimes.  Especially when it comes to anything that anyone else will see and judge me accordingly.  You might think: Oh, Lib.  Don’t obsess!  No one is really going to judge you.

Well, I beg to differ.  This latest step in our journey of adoption is creating our profile book. (Side note:  Go google “adoption profile book.”  If you aren’t completely overwhelmed then you are a robot.)  When anyone has asked us what steps we are taking with this adoption, I will give a quick summary of paper work, interviews, home study, (really deep breathe) THEN creating our profile book, (sigh of relief) and finally waiting.  That is the basic gist of things.  Obviously, if you’ve done it, there is more to it than that, but the profile book has seemed like such a daunting task to me.

The profile book is what our case worker will give to the birthmother or birthparents so that she can get a glimpse of our lives and ultimately see if she “likes” us and wants to let us raise the child that she’s carried in her womb for 9 months.  I don’t say that lightly.  We have twenty pages to show this woman that our marriage, our home, our families and friends, our jobs, hobbies, and education are all worthy of her precious baby.  Daunting?  Yes.

So, I’m a perfectionist.  For the past week I’ve been eating, sleeping, and breathing around putting together this book.  Somehow, instead of just plugging in the pictures and the text, I found the customized edit edition.  I don’t know if that last sentence even makes sense, but I started from scratch and have built each page, putting the pictures just where I want them, and the borders…oh the borders!  The crazy woman is coming out of me because to say that I was obsessed with putting this together would be an understatement.

I just sent a copy to our case worker to approve it yesterday.  Pending any changes that she might have, I think I am finished.

Can I get an Amen?!

One thought on “Profile Book {Adoption Update}

  1. I’m a little behind on my blog reading, but I wanted you to know I loved your adoption book. Praying for you guys as you wait for your sweet baby. Love you!

Leave a Reply

