Home Assessment: Part 3 of 3

We have some dear friends that we’ve met through this adoption journey that are going through each step of the process about the same time as us.  Fortunately for us, they are actually one step ahead, so with each new phase, I am able to get some advice from her end as far as what to expect next.   About five minutes after I got off the phone from scheduling our last home assessment with our case worker, I sent Lindsey a message on Facebook.  In my mind, I knew what I expected to happen, but I needed to hear it from her that there would be no white gloves inspecting the counter tops, or sneaky glimpses into my cabinets, or even a judging eye evaluating the cleanliness of my floors.

She calmed my worst fears, and told me that it was actually a pleasant experience.  She told me that before they had their home study, all she could envision was the Friends’ episode where Monica and Chandler have their home study.

We woke up bright and early this morning anticipating this final step.  This is where Brad stood from about 9:40 am, until our case worker arrived shortly after 10 am!  Bless it, he was a little anxious!

We were immediately put at ease when she arrived.  Even if it is her job, she is so easy to talk to and it instantly felt like she was a longtime friend over for coffee and a chat.  She was drawn to my collage of photos above the couch, and she was able to put faces with our families that we had gotten to talk about extensively in our last meetings.  Then we gave her a tour of our humble apartment.  She asked for the specifics on our square feet, amenities, and community details, etc.  If I had to sum it up, I would say it was short and sweet.

Before she left, she said “You officially have the smallest but cutest nursery, I have ever seen.”  I was beaming with that comment, and she left.  Brad took me out to lunch, and we’ve had a lazy afternoon together.  I’m pretty giddy inside thinking that this part is finally wrapping up!

What’s next?  While she is writing up her final paper work and we wait on the approval letter, we will start to prepare our profile book that will be shown to the birthmothers.  Then, we wait to be chosen!

Like always, prayers are appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Home Assessment: Part 3 of 3

  1. I’m really excited about this blog and the design is gorgeous! Did you do it yourself?
    I think it goes without saying that I can’t wait to meet Baby Brock.

  2. I am soooo excited for you! You must keep writing!! I wish I could be there with you to walk this journey with you, I miss you dear friend. I cannot wait to see what the Lord has up His sleeve!

  3. Libby! I am so glad that I “found” you blogging again. I just scrolled through some of your posts. I am so happy about all that is happening for you and Brad! I know it has been a long road, and I just cannot wait until you hold Baby Brock in your arms. Did you get my text (and reply to your post on my blog) a few months ago? I hope so – I didn’t want you to think I left you hanging. I know you have a lot going on, but maybe we can catch up soon.

  4. Libby,
    I am so thrilled that your adoption process is going well. You and your husband have been so patient and God is taking care of you. I am continuing to pray for you.

Leave a Reply

