weekend project

We scored the most fabulous antique find back at the beginning of the year.  Let’s feast our eyes on all the glory…

I fell in love with it immediately.  Would you believe me if I told you it was in perfect condition and I paid less than $30 for it?  True story.  I didn’t even have to pull out my pouty eyes to convince my Boo that our baby needed it.  Getting it in the car to bring it home was a feat in itself, but don’t underestimate a determined Mama.

I really adored the antiqued charm of the cradle, but it needed a new coat of love.  I decided that I wanted to paint it gray.  Here is where I cash in on the perks of having my honey manage a Sherwin Williams store. He took his paint expertise and got us the safest paint on the market.  Our first step was to sand down the cradle.  I tried to help really enjoyed the view while he worked.

Brad was going to use his know-how and turn the acrylic paint into a spray paint that would be easier to cover all of the spindles.  Theoretically, it was a marvelous idea.

But after several attempts, all it did was spit a few drops of paint out, and we ultimately had to settle for using a paint brush.

It took a lot longer than we expected, but our labor of love turned out to be everything that I ever dreamed it would be and more.

Can’t you just imagine an itty bitty little thing swaddled and rocking in that cradle?  Oh, be still my heart.
2 thoughts on “weekend project

  1. I saw the exact same cradle at the Bateman’s Consignment Sale on Reidville Rd today. If any of your readers want it, the sale ends tomorrow. I did not look at the price since I didn’t need it, but I thought it was really cute and unique. I love the paint color you chose!

Leave a Reply

