Home Assessment: Part 2 of 3

Yesterday morning, I met with our case worker for part two of our home assessment, and Brad met with her this morning.  She met with us separately to make sure that we were on the same page as far as our motives and views on adoption.  We didn’t collaborate our answers, but we kinda knew what she was going to ask based on the 20+ pages of questions that we filled out before hand.

What I did not expect was to tell her my entire life history.  She started by asking where I was born, and where I grew up.  Unfortunately she did not know where Duncan, SC was on the map.  Really?  Who doesn’t know where The DLW is?  Needless to say, we started from the very beginning and went through every. single. chapter. of my life.  I must mention that when I get nervous, I start to talkreallyfast and all mywords starttoruntogeher.  I also jump from one thought to another without making a lot of sense, so I have to clarifymyself and then I starttalking evenfaster.  I was there for 2.5 hours.  That poor, sweet woman had the patience of a saint.  I’m sure she was glad to see me go, or at least be finished with that interview.  Brad usually has a calming effect on me.  All I have to do is put my hand in his, and I can talk a little slower and think a little clearer.  Regardless, I think I got my point across, even if I did use exaggerated hand movements, tear off two fingernails, and restart every other story at least three times.

Brad?  He was there for barely an hour.  Next step:  Final phase of the home assessment!

Leave a Reply

